National History

Chapter History

Chapter Officers

Committee Chairpersons

Awards and Recognition


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a public service non-profit organization dedicated to providing services and programs that promote human welfare. A sisterhood of over 200,000 predominately African American college-educated women, the sorority currently has over 1,000 chapters throughout the United States, Great Britain, Germany, the Caribbean, Bermuda, Haiti, Liberia, the Republic of Korea and Japan. The major programs of the sorority are based upon the organization's Five Point Thrust:
Economic Development
Education Development
International Awareness and Involvement
Physical And Mental Health
Political Awareness and Involvement

Since it's founding in 1913 at Howard University, Delta membership has provided an extensive array of public services through its programs. Delta members are volunteers in direct service work, catalysts for community action, recruiters of public and private agency support of important social issues, leaders in networking with other organizations and resources for securing and disseminating information.

Back to Top


Hartford Alumnae, an Eastern Region Chapter, was chartered in 1947. Today the Hartford Alumnae Chapter has an active membership of over 100 women. The community outreach programs of Delta Sigma Theta are centered around public service. For over 65 years, the Hartford Alumnae Chapter continues to be a driving force in the Greater Hartford community.

Hartford Alumnae Chapter Charter Members

Charter Date: May 1947

Bailey Brown Mary Francis Eaves Adele Emery
Maxine Graham Marian Graves Elizabeth Lambert (Martin)
Susan Morgan Martha Moseley Lillian J. Ranson
Louis Robins E. Olivia Shelton Lillian E. Thomas
  Gloria E. Twisdale  

Back to Top




1st Vice President
2nd Vice President
Recording Secretary
Corresponding Secretary
Financial Secretary

Veronica T. DeLandro
Mylyn Alexander-Smith, Esq.
Robin Foust
Stacey Franklin
Heather Woodward
Nicole Terry
Tammy Brooks
Valerie Lilley
Deloris Drakes
Winifred Battle
Becca Kearse-Elder


Picture Available Soon


Back to Top


Arts & Letters

Meckla Pinnix

Budget & Finance Nicole Terry
Communications/Telephone Heather Woodward
Delta Academy & GEMS Anjanette Taylor, Chiwanda Irving (Co-Chairs)
Elections Committee TBA
Habitat for Humanity Lauren Simon
Hospitality Candy Phillips
Founders Day Norma Brown


Jane Pertillar-Smith, Wanda Ladson, Jackie Selmot-McDermott (Tri-Chairs)

MLK Scholarship Breakfast

Kindly Acts

Brenda Williams
May Week Demitra Jones
Membership Services Mylyn Alexander-Smith, Esq.
Nominating Committee Norma Brown
Organizational Donations Sweets Wilson
Policies/Procedures Robin Foust
Program Planning & Development Robin Foust
Public Relations and Technology Becca Kearse-Elder
Ritual & Ceremonies (Protocol) C. Jeanne Costley
SAT Danielle Thomas
Scholarship Velma Walters
Social Action Shayla Nunnaly
Step Team Dele Shell, Lauren Sharp (Co-Chairs)

Back to Top



Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.
2005 Scholarship Winners

Onika Quinn - Weaver High School
Olivia Lewinson - A.I. Prince Tech High School
Shayla Williams - Weaver High School



Connecticut Association of Schools
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
as a
Distinguished Friend of Education

April 2005


Central Connecticut State University
African American Alliance 21st Century

Special Recognition Award

Hartford Alumnae Chapter

SAT Prep Program

September 28, 2001



Content Table
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 2163 Hartford, CT 06145-2163 • EMail Address: